The MacDowell Colony 

The Writers

Mary Higgins Clark

 (1929 - )

Other Links:

Simon and Schuster

Widely known as the "Queen of the Suspense Novel", Mary Higgans Clark was born in New York City on December 24, 1929. Before starting her writing career,  she worked in an advertising agency and as a stewardess for Pan Am. She married neighbor Warren Clark in 1950. She began writing after marrying and sold her first short story for $100 in 1956.  Her husband died of a heart attack in 1964 and  Higgans Clark wrote radio scripts to support herself and her five children.  Her first book, Aspire to the Heavens, was a biographical novel on the life George Washington. Her second book was the suspense novel Where Are the Children? (1975) , which quickly became a bestseller. In 1974, she enrolled at  Fordham University at Lincoln Center. She  graduated summa cum laude in 1979, with a B.A. in philosophy. She married John J. Conheeney on November 30, 1996 and currently lives in Saddle River, New Jersey. Higgans Clark is the author of twenty bestsellers. Works include: A Stranger Is Watching (1978); The Cradle Will Fall (1980); A Cry in the Night (1982); Stillwatch (1984); Weep No More, My Lady (1987); While My Pretty One Sleeps (1989); Loves Music, Loves to Dance (1991); All Around the Town (1992); Lucky Day (1992); I'll Be Seeing You (1993); Remember Me (1994); Let Me Call You Sweetheart (1995); Silent Night (1995); Moonlight Becomes You (1996); Pretend You Don't See Her (1997)
NH Public Television
MacDowell Home
About the Colony
Classroom Resources
Order the Video
© 2001 New Hampshire PBS